Ice Skating

I spent the majority of my childhood in Bay Village, OH. Every winter, they would create an outdoor ice skating rink. It was rarely smooth so if you managed to skate on it, you learned some interesting moves!

Five years of my early teens we lived in Darien, CT. One of my friends had an outdoor ice skating rink in her front yard.

Between those two places, I learned to ice skate quite well. I did simple tricks and really enjoyed it.

Then I grew into an adult. I put on skates after 25 years or so and couldn’t even stand up! I assumed it would all come back to me immediately and I’d be out there showing my kids how to do it. Nope. They skated around as natural as can be while I hung onto the side and then gave up and sat with the old folk.

Where had my abilities gone? Thinking back on it, it was probably just my trepidation. Afraid of falling because if I hurt myself, who would care for my kids? That underlying fear of “what if” kept me on the sidelines.

I was reminded of this as I went outside this morning in search of cell phone reception. My driveway is mostly ice and as I negotiated it, I thought of all those carefree winter days when I glided and swung around on ice skates without a thought or care in the world.

I know I can’t go back to those days. My old body isn’t up to it anymore. But there are so many things I don’t do because of the “what if” factor. Yes, there are usually physical consequences to some things I do, but all have been totally worth it.

I challenge you today to do something a little daring. It doesn’t have to be physical, it can be trying a new food, watch a tv show you normally wouldn’t, drink tea instead of coffee or vice versa, try a new exercise or just talk to the person in line next to you at the grocery store. Keep a journal of your new experiences (and don’t exclude the memories in your life related to them and why you tried them) and you’ll be amazed at all the things you’ve done at the end of the year. You’ll have a book to read next New Year’s Day that will motivate you to keep it up every year.

What am I going to do? I’m waffling between signing up for a French course or a photography one. Maybe I’ll do both.

Have a great day!

Published by

Sandra Davenport Collins

Mother of three girls, two son-in-laws. Grandma to two boys and two girls along with four dogs and four cats. Living life fully with Chronic Pancreatitis and Fibromyalgia.

2 thoughts on “Ice Skating”

Leave a comment